Missing library school and all, but what’s next

So I just spoke via e-mail with a current student and in the process of talking to her about her project, I realized that I kind of miss being in library school and getting to explore the theoretical and being focused on actually doing work.  I think this came about when I started thinking about the fact that the only library work I seem to be doing is futile – the submission of the ubiquitous job application.  I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t think there are any changes I can make to my resume, but all I hear back is “eligible – not referred to selecting official”.  Oh to be pulling all-nighters to fulfill an assignment – any research based assignment.

Not only that, but in trying to suggest ideas for my friend that she could explore, I also realized that I haven’t lost the zeal and ardor that I had as a library student.  It’s just gone in to hiding somewhere, waiting for the right question to draw it out.  With that in mind, I can’t wait for ALA or SLA this summer – a chance to exchange thoughts with colleagues and to examine these questions more fully.  I also discovered that I wish I had the time (and the money) to be able to pursue some of this research myself.  I have begun to realize that library school students are spoiled – we love doing research and we are given access to all of these materials, but then we can’t maintain this relationship once we graduate.  We are limited in what we are still able to use and public libraries are not always able to fill this need.

Leave a Reply

