So I’m excited for DC

I get to leave tomorrow for the SLA Annual Conference and I’m really looking forward to it.  I still plan to visit the Holocaust Museum if I have the time – it’s an amazing museum.  I’m also looking forward to hearing Colin Powell speak.  I’ve got a lot of sessions that I am hoping to attend including a couple by SU’s own Jill Hurst-Wahl.

Anyway in browsing for the news today, I uncovered a story about excerpts from Penthouse magazine (x8) being on the shelves of a library and a patron raising a stink.  Personally, I think that the library’s response was completely appropriate – it is up to the parents to monitor the reading habits of their children and libraries shouldn’t censor.  For more: read full article here.

Leave a Reply

