NYLA 08 – stampede to Saratoga

So, two weeks ago I was in Saratoga to attend the New York Library Association (NYLA) Annual Conference.  In addition to working the table for SU (yes again!), I got the chance to walk around the exhibits hall.  I was kind of disappointed with the schwag (free stuff).  It seemed like most places brought the exact same things as last year… although the staple free stapler was pretty cool.

Anyway, I attended a number of sessions, including a session on getting organized – which quickly overflowed the room – at 8 am on Friday morning!  The speaker was really good and she gave out a number of good ideas.  Unfortunately I have not found sufficient motivation to try her techniques yet.  Later I went to a site on using wiki tools to empower the staff.  It turned out to be two New York Public Library employees talking about what works and what doesn’t.  Excellent program.

On Saturday I was disappointed to find that the job “fair” never even took place.  I showed up and there wasn’t even a sign saying that the event was canceled!  My second session, on the research benefits of historical and current menus and other food programs.  It was OUTSTANDING!

Despite the rain, I had a great time and look forward to the next conference I can go to…

Leave a Reply

